The Big Easy: Easier Than I Thought!

They say the third time’s a charm and for me and the Big Easy, that was definitely the case. My first two trips to New Orleans were “strictly business” and while I was staying on the edge of the French Quarter, I didn’t get to check it out. My third trip, however, while also for business, provided ample opportunity for pleasure as well.

I will confess I had absolutely no expectations, so when I was treated to a wide array of music – none of it jazz – I sat up and took notice.  Since jazz is really not one of my go-to genres, I was pleasantly surprised, to say the least. Zydeco and Satchmo aside, here is the soundtrack to MY New Orleans:

At Rock and Bowl, an out of the way live music venue featuring, you guessed it, bowling and a bar, we screwed the pooch in terms of live music, but the soundtrack we heard really took the cake: a seriously long Jackson-inspired set featuring MJ, sister Janet and the whole damn brood, followed up by a classic rock set that included Cream, the Clash and Three Dog Night.  You can’t make this shit up!  I am not ashamed to say I danced to it all.

Somewhere on Bourbon Street, at the Old Opera House I was treated to a GREAT bar band that rocked amazing renditions of Train’s “Soul Sister,” Jet’s “Are you Gonna Be My Girl,” Lenny Kravitz’s “Are you Gonna Go My Way?” and the White Stripes “Fell in Love with a Girl”. I danced to it all, swinging my hair wildly around in sheer delight.  The gold earring I lost was well worth it. Truly.

As part of the ERA Real Estate 40th Anniversary celebration, we hosted an opening night party at Generations Hall which featured music from the last 40 years, most notably a heavy set of late 80s/early 90s hip hop that included Salt n Pepa “Push It”, Rob Base and DJ E-Z Rock “It Takes Two,” and Sir Mix a Lot “I Like Big Butts,” culminating in MC Hammer’s “Can’t Touch This.”
Unbelievably brilliant in a totally nostalgic kinda way.

Of course, throughout the course of my week, the iPod got its work out. Songs that stuck out and that will remind me of my trip include: Butthole Surfers “Pepper,” Broken Social Scene “Sweetest Kill,” Coldplay “Every Teardrop is a Waterfall,” These United States “I Want You to Keep Everything,” Thom Yorke, Harrowdown Hills and, believe it or not Strafe’s “Set it Off!”

On our last night, we ventured past Bourbon Street to the “other side” of town, centered around Frenchmen Street, home to the locals.  As we traipsed along, I heard The Rapture “How Deep is your Love” and the Violent Femmes “Blister in the Sun” before having to take a fallen comrade in arms home.  I heard we missed an awesome reggae band but I feel confident there will a next time.

All in all, my musical experience in the Big Easy was a most pleasant surprise and deeply, deeply satisfying. I may be home, but the sounds of my New Orleans will stay with me for some time.

2 thoughts on “The Big Easy: Easier Than I Thought!

  1. Glad the third time was the charm.

    Yay for Frenchmen! We live for the “other side” and you brought me home again. Let us know when that “next time” comes along!

  2. Thanks a lot for sharing this very cool audio and travel experience. What a great “read” – it felt as though I was there with you. Looking forward to hearing your playlist and to visiting The Big Easy!

Leave a comment